On Change

I am reading the much acclaimed Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert these days and yes it is as good as they make it out to be. I have a feeling this one’s going to have a few memorable quotes. So here’s the first one.

I find the endurance of the Augusteum so reassuring, that this structure has had such an erratic career, yet always adjusted to the particular wildness of the times. (…)

I look at the Augusteum, and I think that perhaps my life has not be so chaotic, after all. It is merely this world that is chaotic, brining changes to us all that nobody could have anticipated. The Augusteum warns me to not get attached to any obsolete ideas about who I am, what I represent, whom I belong to, or what function I may once have intended to serve. Yesterday I might have been a glorious monument to somebody, true enough – but tomorrow I could be a fireworks depository. Even in the Eternal City, says the silent Augusteum, one must always be prepared for riotous and endless waves of transformation.

6 thoughts on “On Change

  1. Thanks for choosing this quotation. I read something on Brevity Blog that really tears at Gilbert’s book, and this reveals a true gem. Seems like that critique might just be a bit mean-spirited…

    • sharbet says:

      Hi Rose, thanks for reading. I read parts of that critique and I can’t relate to that point of view at all! I didn’t feel that Gilbert’s book trivialised divorce or depression, it was actually an inspiring book that re-enforced my belief that we can all find our own ways of being happy. It sounds simplistic and optimistic but that is part of what made it a good read!

Leave a Reply

