Books and celebrities

Last week I went to a talk at the LSE on Poetry and Friendship by Vikram Seth. Meeting my favourite authors (or at least getting to see them and hear them speak) is one of the best things about living in London.  I remember in 2008 when we encountered Mohsin Hamid and Kamila Shamsie among others at SOAS. This time, Vikram Seth actually made it to feel like a discussion in a living room as he talked and read out poetry. I have read his A Suitable Boy and absolutely loved it. My advice to those who are daunted by this 1400 page book is to start and not worry about finishing it. Just read a little bit each day and enjoy it while it lasts. My friend who absolutely adores Vikram Seth also gave me his mother’s autobriography, Leila Seth’s On Balance. I am reading this now and I am very happy for the long travel journeys in London because it gives me the perfect excuse to attack the fat books. I already have a pile waiting for me that I found at my cousin’s. Very excited. So far I would definitely recommend reading On Balance. There is something about reading about real people’s lives and everything they experienced. It makes me think that maybe everybody’s life is that interesting and the biographies just have to be written in an interesting way and they will be enjoyed. After all, isn’t that the whole concept of personal blogs?

Leave a Reply

